Posted by: Kathy Cassidy | April 16, 2008

Come Listen to Our Blog

So, you teach kindergarten and you have a classroom blog.  Your children are not yet what you would call fluent readers, but you want them to be engaged in what you have written on your blog, not just look at the pictures.  What to do? 

 

Cindy Blakely has solved the problem by voice-enabling her blog using Odiogo.  When you sign up, it adds a “listen now” icon to each of your blog entries.  After a short commercial, a “near human” voice reads the text aloud to your pre-reader children.  Cindy says,

 

Odiogo freed the student up to hear the words….the message….and know why the images went along with the words. In the far reaches of my vision, they would follow along (as best they could) and pick up a few words to read.

 

As my son would say, “sweet”. 

 

Unfortunately, Odiogo only works with WordPress, Blogger and a few other platforms.  I’m a dedicated Classblogmeister user for my own classroom blog, but adding a listening component for primary bloggers is inspired.

Responses

  1. I completely agree. The use of the Blog for communication is a wonderful concept. The use of a voice-enabler to allow students of all levels to participate only makes our use of technology and communication more innovative.
    With tools like tablet pcs, wireless internet, and home participation, true electronic learning communities are within reach.

    Thanks for the excellent post!

  2. This is great. I’ve heard of Odiogo before but haven’t used it– I use Talkr on my blog currently for text to speech functionality. This is great to know about. CLiCk, Speak is a FireFox extension that I learned about recently which can read text to you even if a plug-in isn’t used on the site, so that could work with your Classroom Blogmeister site I think.

    I have some other links related to accessibility and text-to-speech (among other topics) on http://del.icio.us/wfryer/accessibility.

    Thanks for sharing this! 🙂

  3. Thanks for the suggestions. I’ll look into them. I read your blog in my google reader account, so I’ve never noticed the listen feature before.

  4. Thank you so much for posting this. I’m going to share this with my youngest son’s 1st grade teacher. I figure the more options they’re aware of, the more inclined they may be to try them out in the classroom.


Leave a Reply

Categories

