Posted by: Kathy Cassidy | December 28, 2008

Boxes for Wikis

 

blogging.jpg

I’ve been doing some preliminary work for some workshops that I will be giving in the next few months, and one of the things I’ve been thinking about is the different kinds of educational wikis that I have seen.  Aside from wikis that educators use professionally to share links, here are the kinds that I have thought of so far:

·      Wikis as classroom web pages. I wish I had an example of this to link to here, as I have seen several good ones, but I seem to have forgotten to put them in my delicious account. (Let me know if you use one in this way, and I’ll add it here.)

·      Wikis as collaborative projects between many classrooms. The Holiday Traditions project, the Monster Project, and Alphabet Antics are examples of this.

·      Wikis that invite anyone to contribute to students’ learning. Personally, this is my favourite type. Wikis such as 1000 Names, Responsibilities and the Kindergarten Counting Book allow anyone to be a part of a class’s learning.

·      Wikis that are used by one classroom to record their learning in a space that allows for collaboration. Clarence Fisher’s history wiki is an example of this.

All of these are effective ways to share.

What about you?  Have you seen wikis used in other ways that don’t fit into these classifications?  My mind likes boxes–I’d be glad to add another.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

