Posted by: Kathy Cassidy | January 4, 2009

7 Things You Probably Don’t Know About Me

449947823_7282782dbe_m1No one has tagged me for this meme, for which I am grateful.  I have been tagged a couple of times for other things, but I have never posted them because I always felt that I would then have to tag others at the end, and that feels too much like a chain letter for me to feel comfortable with it.  I decided to break all the rules and do this meme anyway.  The good part of deciding to do it myself is that I don’t have to tag others.  I enjoy it immensely when other people post their seven things, so here are mine.

 

1.    I grew up in a VERY small town. There were eight students in my graduating class.  Despite there being some very accepting people who lived in the area, I always knew we didn’t really belong because my parents had only moved there when they got married, and not always been residents.

 

2.    I can speak, read and write Thai. (Well, the reading and writing are pretty rusty.)  I lived in Thailand for four years while my husband was teaching in a college, and I was having babies. While I was there, a lovely Thai tutor (Khru Sujitra) came to our home to teach me. I wrote and did well on the “grade six” exam for foreigners.

 

3.    When I was young, Bobby Hull, the hockey player, had supper in my parents’ home. My father brought him home from a cattle sale.   My mother fed him steak. We raised beef cattle, so this was not as ostentatious as it sounds. I’m not much of a hockey fan, but understood that this was a big deal.

 

4.    In a former teaching life, I was a primary music consultant in Regina.

 

5.    I’d like a chance to do my first year of teaching over again. Oh to go back with the knowledge and experience that I have now!

 

6.    I was raised in a veterinarian’s home. It was a common experience for me to watch dogs and cats spayed, to help pull calves who were not coming out when they were supposed to or rub down the bleary-eyed calves that were born by C-section. Despite this, I am really not an animal lover.

 

7.    I like to watch old episodes of Star Trek.

 

If you read this, and haven’t done your own seven things, please do.  I won’t tag you, but I’d love to read them.  C’mon.  Break the rules with me.

 

Responses

  1. I like that you did your 7 things without being prompted … interesting that you are not an animal lover having been around animals so much. Thanks for sharing!

  2. I just might have to be a rule breaker too. Since I don’t tell very many people about my blog ( or non-blog as i refer to it), I don’t have to worry about being tagged. Besides, I agree with you about the “chain letter feel” to a meme. Been tagged before, but said I wasn’t played. Don’t check for my 7 things for a bit, but anything that goes against a rule, just calls out to me.

    I loved reading your 7 things. Thanks for sharing.

    • I’ll be watching for it!!

  3. Hey Kathy – loved reading your 7 things. My whole family still watches old Star Trek episodes. I think because it brings back memories of all of us watching it every Sunday evening.

  4. The Bobby Hull story is interesting. My Dad worked in sales and was always bringing home clients for lunch. One day he phoned home and told my Mom he was bringing home Bobby Orr. I was about 10 and was so excited. He came home with a Robert Orr, but not the one I was thinking of.

  5. You pushed me to write, too. Loved learning more about you. It took a lot of thinking to decide what to reveal.

  6. Kathy,
    This is the first I had heard of meme. I wasn’t sure how to pronounce it when I first read it, but now I understand!! I am still wondering why the “world” would want to know obscure things about me. I am still acclimating to this online world.

  7. Kathy,
    I wondered if anyone would be interested in my seven things as well, but decided that since I enjoy reading other people’s things, I would chance it.

  8. […] « With a little bit more feeling 7 Things Meme January 14, 2009 Like Kathy Cassidy, I have not been officially tagged for this meme but I didn’t want Kathy to be all alone in […]

  9. Kathy, it’s great to see how others have responded to this. Small towns are great places but, like you mentioned, there are those who move there and those who are from there. Being in that situation in my current position, I often find it interesting how such things subtly creep into what people say and how they react. I also grew up on a farm but, like you, I’m not a great animal lover. I like fish, in fishbowls. That’s about it. Thanks for sharing.

  10. Kelly,
    I have actually even felt the “you’re not from here” feeling a couple of times in Moose Jaw. I wonder how big a place has to be for it to not exist?


Leave a Reply

Categories

