Posted by: Kathy Cassidy | December 11, 2009

Hear From Santa!

This morning I tweeted that I was planning to have my students email Santa.  My wonderful twitter network came up with two other sites that would have allowed me to do the same thing.  In case you haven’t yet written to the jolly fellow, there is still time to get an answer before school is out if you use a digital format instead of pencil and paper.  Here are some options:

  • Northpole – I like this one because many of my students can’t yet write in a way that is readable, but they can all click beside which gift they would like.  It allows other comments to Santa for those who can write.  Replies come in a couple of days.
  • Email Santa – This has drop down menus for many of the letter’s components as well as some pictures to choose from.  It also allows written comments and sends an immediate answer.
  • Canada Post – This site has only fill in boxes for your name, email address and your letter.  If it is like the letters sent via the post office, a volunteer responds individually to each email.
  • Sympatico – This isn’t really a letter, but you can use it to create a video message to a child from Santa.  I tried it out by making one for my eighteen year old daughter.  Kids would love it, but it’s not really appropriate for the classroom and is better sent by a parent or other relative.  You might need to be Canadian for this, as you need to give a postal code.

Do you know of another option? Please leave it in a comment.

Responses

  1. Have you seen the Portable North Pole? http://www.portablenorthpole.tv/home You get a video message from Santa with your name, photo etc. Great fun! I sent one to my whole family last year!! lol

    • No, but it looks great! Thanks for sharing it.

      • You’re welcome! It’s ace! 🙂 Have a great Xmas 🙂

  2. You’ve got me going now 😉 http://www.teachertechnologies.com/2011/12/a-very-augmented-reality-christmas/ lol Have a go with some of these cool things. I bet your students will love them! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

