Posted by: Kathy Cassidy | February 13, 2010

Little Kids…Big Potential

Below is a video that I made to show some of the tools and learning that takes place in my classroom.  It features my students from both last year and this year.  I submitted the video to a Mindshare Learning contest, and was fortunate to win lots of cool prizes, including a trip to the ISTE conference in Denver this summer.  My students are excited that “their movie”  has won a prize, but are more interested that an X-box will be arriving or our classroom.


My hope is that this video can contribute to thoughts and discussions about the possibility and potential of technology in primary classrooms.

Responses

  1. Congratulations Kathy – I love the video and have shared it via Yammer with the teachers in my school division.

  2. Hi,
    My name is Marianne Lane, I am from the University of South Alabama in Dr. Strange’s EDM 310 class. I will be following your blog for the time being. I will be posting a summary on what I have learned to my blog. My blog is lanemarianneedm310.blogspot.com. This video was very cool. I have heard of students in elementary schools using these tools, but I didn’t really believe it. It is amazing what these kids can do already. Great job!

  3. I enjoyed your introduction the film as future college graduates. These children know how to blog and create videos alongside wiki’s. I find that most inspiration. I only hope my 6 year old son will be exposed to this grasp of technology one day. I was concerned that I did not see one African American child. If my memory serves me correct I think this is filmed in Canada. There is definitely a difference in opportunities taking place across various educational systems. I can only hope that all children of all races are allowed the same opportunity.


Leave a Reply

Categories

