Posted by: Kathy Cassidy | August 7, 2010

Point and Shoot: Using Video to Capture Learning

Making Movies

I can think of few things that engage children as much as movies, especially if the movies feature the children themselves.  Because of this, I love to use video in my classroom to give evidence of the learning that has taken place and to illustrate the students’ reflection.  Sometimes the video captures only a lesson, and sometimes it demonstrates an entire unit of learning, but always the students want to watch again and again.  Parents are also delighted to get a glimpse into the classroom and to watch their child talking about  learning.

To this engagement, add the mounting evidence of the importance of visual learning (some is referenced in the slides below), and you would be hard pressed to find a good reason to NOT use video.

The wiki for my Point and Shoot presentation from BLC has lots of examples of students and classrooms that are using video in their classrooms (thanks, PLN!), as well as links to more information.  The slides are embedded below.

Responses

  1. […] Primary Preoccupation Point and Shoot: Using Video to Capture Learning […]

  2. Kathy,

    I really enjoyed watching your video and looking through your presentation on why to make videos. You make some great points in both! Children love watching videos and it is a great way to learn… I believe your presentation said learning is 83% sight! That should be reason alone to show videos in class. I think that making videos with your class is a interesting and fun way for your students to show what they have learned, and I’m sure they never get tired of watching themselves!

  3. Your post about videos was one that gave me many new ideas about teaching! I am going to be an elementary teacher soon and one of my goals is to keep my students interested in what they are learning! It is no secret that children will learn more if they enjoy the ways that they are learning. The idea of using videos in the classroom makes perfect sense because, as you stated, the children will love to watch the videos over and over again! Even if the only reason that they want to watch the videos is so they can see themselves, they are still going to be seeing what they are studying each time they watch. Your videos were both interesting and fun to watch- especially the one with your students being the stars!

  4. This post was great. I love to see children enjoying what they are learning. Using videos is a great way to keep them interested and involved. It’s also a plus how the parents enjoy the videos as well. I plan to use as many tools like videos in my classroom to teach. I really enjoy watching and learning from your posts.

  5. I think that using video in the classroom is a wonderful tool. It gets the children involved and helps them learn something new. It could also help the children to grasp a concept they do not understand very well. I also believe it is a wonderful way to get the kids involved in the lesson and the class. I think younger kids would really love this because to make the movie they get to dress up and be characters they normally don’t get to be. This is a wonderful way to make the class more fun and it gives children a little taste of other technology. These are some wonderful idea for a new teacher to think about to make learning more fun for the kids and the teacher.

  6. Using video in the classroom is a great idea. The children love it because they feel more invovled and they can always go back to watch time and time again if they choose. This is another fun activity for the children to stay focused with and enjoy the learning process as well.

  7. Hwllo! My name is Crystal and I am a student at the University of South Alabama. I am glad that you shared you ideas so that everyone could see them. Making videos is a good idea. I never thought about the parents and how much they would enjoy seeing and learning what their children do. This is a great post. Thanks again for sharing.

  8. Hi Kathy,
    I am a student in Dr. Strange’s EDM310 class at the University of South Alabama. In his class we are learning lots of great ways to enhance the use of technology in the classroom. I think making videos is an excellent way to get the students not only interested in learning, but also excited about it. I enjoyed watching the video your students have made and thanks for sharing!

  9. Ms. Cassidy,

    I am also a student in Dr. Strange’s EDM310 class. I love how much you get your students involved. After watching your videos and reading your posts I hope to be a teacher like you. I believe students learn by getting involved and listening to music. My six year old son and two year old daughter were involved in many of my friends and my own videos for Dr. Strange’s class. They love to see themselves on them and tell family and friends about it. I think it is wonderful what you are doing and hope you do not mind if I use some of your ideas. 🙂

  10. I thoroughly enjoyed this! I had no idea that teachers, students and classrooms were on this level technologically! It is truly amazing to see the advancements and how far we have come. I was in elementary school in the early 90s which was not that long ago but I haven’t been back since and it has taken a 180 degree turn since my day : )
    I have a lot of catching up to do and will have to work really hard to understand the workings of all this 20th century madness that I should really already understand and be a part of but I just haven’t been able to get into it. This will force that transition though, and I cannot wait till I am up to speed and learn all about the smart board and new technologies that broaden the kids views, ideas and minds!
    Bravo Ms. Cassidy!


Leave a Reply

Categories

