Posted by: Kathy Cassidy | March 24, 2009

Using Video to Capture Learning

I’m currently at the iT summit in Saskatoon.  Yesterday I did a presentation called Just Point and Shoot:  Using Video to Capture Learning. My emphasis was on the capturing, not on a polished final product.  I find that I am using video more and more  to help my students share their learning.  The students love using video because even those who do not yet write well can explain and demonstrate their learning and there is then the opportunity to watch themselves over and over again.  I love it because this watching reinforces the concept that they need to learn.  If a picture is worth a thousand words, then a video must be worth at least a million.

The wiki for my presentation includes the slide deck I used.  Because the presentation was coming up, I decided to stretch myself and learn a bit about video editing.  With thanks to Dean Shareski for showing me the basics, here is my first attempt at an edited video.  I used it at the end of my presentation.


Responses

  1. Kathy, when you have time I’d love to talk with you about the primary grades and the issue of control.

  2. Kathy,

    Thanks for a great post. I agree with you about emphasizing the capturing of the learning and not necessarily the polished product. I’m letting go of the perfection I used to feel a video needed to have if it was going public. It is liberating. 🙂

    Thankfully, my school district does not filter YouTube. However, they have asked us not to post videos on it. We can take, but we cannot give. I hope that changes soon.

    Your students are great messengers for the use of classroom video!

    Linda

  3. Thanks for your comments, Linda. I have been seeing a few more examples of students learning being “captured” lately, so I hope the trend that way continues.

  4. Hello again MS. Cassidy, I had choose this as the second post because I have a 2 year old and I don’t know what I would do if video wasn’t around. It is a great idea to bring it into the classroom like you have been doing. Keep up the great teaching.


Leave a comment

Categories